## **GENERAL PURPOSES AND LICENSING COMMITTEE**

Minutes of the special meeting held at 7.35 pm on 13 May 2020 following the annual meeting of the Council

#### Present:

Councillor Pauline Tunnicliffe (Chairman) Councillor Stephen Wells (Vice-Chairman) Councillors Gareth Allatt, Vanessa Allen, Mary Cooke, Robert Evans, Kira Gabbert, Josh King, Christopher Marlow, Russell Mellor, Tony Owen, Melanie Stevens, Harry Stranger and Michael Turner

#### Also Present:

Other Members of the Council

# 71 PROPORTIONALITY OF SUB-COMMITTEES

# **RESOLVED** that the proportionality of Sub-Committees be agreed as follows –

	Size	Conservative	Labour	Independent
Audit Sub- Committee	7	6	1	0
Industrial Relations Sub- Committee	7	6	1	0
Local Joint Consultative Cttee	9	8	1	0
Pensions Investment Sub- Committee	7	6	1	0
Rights of Way Sub-Committee	7	6	1	0

General Purposes and Licensing Committee 13 May 2020

### 72 MEMBERS OF SUB-COMMITTEES

**RESOLVED** that the Schedule of Members to serve on the Sub-Committees of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee be agreed as below.

## (i) AUDIT SUB-COMMITTEE

	Councillors	
1	Neil Reddin (CH)	
2	Robert Evans (VC)	
3	GARETH ALLATT	
4	Ian Dunn (LAB)	
5	Keith Onslow	
6	Tony Owen	
7	STEPHEN WELLS	

## (ii) INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS SUB-COMMITTEE

(To include Leader, Deputy Leader, Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee.)

	Councillors	
1	Colin Smith (CH)	
2	Peter Fortune (VC)	
3	David Cartwright	
4	Simon Fawthrop	
5	Josh King (LAB)	
6	Pauline Tunnicliffe	
7	Stephen Wells	

### (iii) LOCAL JOINT CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE

(To include Leader or named Deputy, Chairman of Executive, Resources and Contracts Policy Development and Scrutiny Committee or named Deputy and Chairman of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee or named Deputy)

	Councillors	
1	Russell Mellor (CH)	
2	David Cartwright	
3	Simon Fawthrop	
4	Will Harmer	
5	Josh King (LAB)	
6	Kate Lymer	
7	Colin Smith	
8	Pauline Tunnicliffe	
9	Michael Turner	

# (iv) PENSIONS INVESTMENT SUB-COMMITTEE

	Councillors	
1	Keith Onslow (CH)	
2	Gareth Allatt (VC)	
3	Simon Fawthrop	
4	Simon Jeal (LAB)	
5	David Jefferys	
6	Christopher Marlow	
7	Gary Stevens	

# (v) RIGHTS OF WAY SUB-COMMITTEE

	Councillors
1	Michael Rutherford (CH)
2	Mike Botting (VC)
3	Vanessa Allen (LAB)
4	Simon Fawthrop
5	Robert Mcilveen
6	Harry Stranger
7	Michael Tickner

# 73 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMEN AND VICE-CHAIRMEN OF SUB-COMMITTEES

**RESOLVED** that the following Councillors be appointed as Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Sub-Committees of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee.

Audit Sub-Committee	Neil Reddin	Robert Evans
Industrial Relations Sub- Committee	Colin Smith	Peter Fortune
Local Joint Consultative Committee	Russell Mellor	(Staff-side appointment)
Pensions Investment Sub- Committee	Keith Onslow	Gareth Allatt
Rights of Way Sub-Committee	Michael Rutherford	Mike Botting

### 74 APPOINTMENT OF APPEALS SUB-COMMITTEE

#### **RESOLVED**:

(1) That all Members of the Council, except Executive Members, be eligible for appointment to the Appeals Sub-Committee.

(2) Three Members be drawn as required, to constitute an Appeals Sub-Committee.

#### 75 APPOINTMENT OF LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE

#### **RESOLVED**:

(1) That all Members of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee be eligible for appointment to the Licensing Sub-Committee;

(2) Three Members be drawn as required, to constitute a Licensing Sub-Committee.

The Meeting ended at 7.36 pm

Chairman